Transfiguration Brotherhood held the 18th Meeting of the Lord Convention Near Moscow

08 March 2017
The convention brought together Christian communities from many cities across Russia and neighbouring countries along with representatives of the Romanian Orthodox Association "Lord’s Army"

The main discussion focused on two issues that turned out to be fundamentally connected. On the first day, participants talked about the challenges and crises one encounters when living within a community, about the community's potential and its typically modern characteristics. The focus of the second day meetings was the National Repentance Initiative by the Transfiguration Brotherhood aimed at marking the centenary of the 1917 tragedy.

Aleksey Naumov, Chairman of the Vvedenskoye Brotherhood, Georgy Kochetkov, founder and spiritual father of the Transfiguration Brotherhood, Yulia Balakshina, Chairperson of St. Peter's Brotherhood.
Aleksey Naumov, Chairman of the Vvedenskoye Brotherhood, Georgy Kochetkov, founder and spiritual father of the Transfiguration Brotherhood, Yulia Balakshina, Chairperson of St. Peter's Brotherhood.

Some communities within the Transfiguration Brotherhood were founded 15 and 20 years ago. The very first Transfiguration Brotherhood community will mark its 30th anniversary next year. Olga-Olesya Sidorova, Chairperson of the Voskresenskoye Minor Orthodox Brotherhood, presented an overview of how the understanding of community life evolved over the years. Further, she outlined the new and deeper aspects of meaning that had become progressively attributable to the community life principles proposed by Georgy Kochetkov, Transfiguration Brotherhood's founder and spiritual father, in 1978*, ten years before the first community came into existence. The birth of the first community was a manifestation of faith in the church; the birth of each new community where people establish personal and authentic relationships characterised by depth and mutual responsibility is always an effort towards building up the church.

Olga-Olesya Sidorova, Chairperson of the Voskresenskoye Brotherhood (left)
Olga-Olesya Sidorova, Chairperson of the Voskresenskoye Brotherhood (left)

Close relationships are impossible without vulnerability, yet when people progressively gain awareness of each other's weaknesses and difficult personality aspects, it becomes hard to stay vulnerable. An even bigger challenge for a community is that Christian love always nudges one towards greater things and in the direction of overcoming inertia, fears, sins and weaknesses. Moving forward in this direction is impossible without mutual trust, obedience and patience. Dmitry Gasak, Chairman of the Transfiguration Brotherhood, shared how touched he had been once by the words of Archimandrite Sergius (Saveliev) addressed to his community: "My whole life is laid bare before you". Maintaining the unworldly nature of community and its freedom from the sins of this world requires effort, prayer and work.

Chairman of the Transfiguration Brotherhood Dmitry Gasak
Chairman of the Transfiguration Brotherhood Dmitry Gasak

Another problem is the waning of the spirit that is part of what Nikolay Neplyuev called 'the daily the church life', something both 'old' and 'young' communities face. This can be overcome through a constant search for ways of renewing life, through dedication to fellowship and ministry when a community does not live for itself but tries to find opportunities for serving the whole church.

 2017, the year marking the centenary of the revolution, opens up an opportunity for making a special effort to remember the country and the church's tragic history for the sake of renewing our lives. This is the reasoning behind the Brotherhood's National Repentance Initiative.

Birds have become its symbol. A flying bird always symbolises coming out of a cage, gaining freedom. At a first glance, there are only three birds there but looking at it from a different perspective will allow one to see a fourth bird, a white bird of hope.

All members of the Brotherhood carry the weight of the Soviet past, either their own or their families', which is precisely why the National Repentance Initiative is about personal repentance of Brotherhood members and those who would like to join them. It also calls for restoring personal and family history. Yulia Balakshina, who was chairing a council meeting, said: "We can repent for the Bolshevik in ourselves". Some of us supported the untruth propagated by the Soviet regime by word and deed or, on the contrary, by saying nothing. However, even those born and raised in the post-Soviet era, have said that a call to repentance is valid for them as they, too, have accepted the spirit of fear, passivity and lack of freedom.

Archpriest Vasile Mihoc, President of the Board of the Orthodox Association “Lord’s Army”, shared the experience of repentance in the Romanian Church. The Holy Synod of the Romanian Orthodox Church proclaimed 2017 as Solemn Year of the Defenders of Orthodoxy during Communism in order to commemorate victims of the Communist regime and martyrs. Father Vasile also told the council about the 1999 initiative featuring a large-scale conference attended by representatives from fourteen Romanian Orthodox, Catholic and protestant Christian churches. National solidarity for healing and overcoming the aftermath of 'the collective fall' were on the conference agenda. He noted that in Romania they also had to deal with the popular attitude of individualising repentance, which was often perceived as a personal matter.

President of the Board of the Orthodox Association “Lord’s Army” Archpriest Vasile Mihoc
President of the Board of the Orthodox Association “Lord’s Army” Archpriest Vasile Mihoc

In his address to the convention, Aleksey Naumov, President of the Transfiguration Foundation for Culture and Education and Chairman of the Vvedenskoye Minor Orthodox Brotherhood, emphasised that repentance does not dwell on the past but "accounts for the past in the future". This is often overlooked due to the main emphasis being placed on guilt, which is draining for everyone. Repentance is considered something for the weak; we forget that repentance is a return to the Father, a change of heart and an attempt to lay an appropriate foundation for rebuilding the nation and the country. Dmitry Gasak noted that repentance was not as much an issue of guilt as of sharing a destiny. "Being unable to divorce our lives from the history of our nation contributes to re-establishing succession and tradition. Our repentance goes beyond purely acknowledging certain things, it has a purpose and gives us a hope of correcting our ways," he said.

Chairman of the Vvedenskoye Brotherhood Aleksey Naumov
Chairman of the Vvedenskoye Brotherhood Aleksey Naumov

Another outcome of this terrible era is that today even those people who are sensitive to the truth are not prepared to take responsibility for the existing state of things and potential ways of its development. Everyone is paralysed by fear and inability to believe in unity, which is associated exclusively with the experience of "collective farming" ("kolkhoz") and lack of freedom. However, Christian repentance cannot be individualised, it can only be personal and conciliar, i.e. open to all.

Priest Georgy Kochetkov
Priest Georgy Kochetkov

Repenting on behalf of others requires sacrifice and effort. Father Georgy Kochetkov said that in this world the highest gifts of God, which are freedom and love, could paradoxically come into conflict with each other. Man is always free, and it is this gift of freedom that enables faith in man; however, freedom may degenerate into iniquity and turn into slavery of a fatal and demonic kind. It was this degeneration of freedom that brought our nation to the total catastrophe a century ago. Father Georgy pointed out that Apostle Paul in his Epistle to the Corinthians (8:8–9:2) talked about freedom of the faithful, a type of freedom characterising those capable of self-restraint for the sake of their brother, capable of doing anything in an effort to put into action the very best opportunity granted by the Lord, which is the love of Christ.

Alexandra Strotseva

 

Photos: Alexander Volkov, Alyona Kaplina, Oleg Svechnikov, Evgeniya Fominykh


Translated by Ekaterina Zvyagintseva

* The article was published under the pen-name 'Nikolai Gerasimov' in the 128th issue of the Russian Christian Movement Journal 'Vestnik' ('Le Messager') in 1978.

load more

Subscribe to our mailing list

В Подмосковье прошел XVIII Сретенский собор Преображенского братства

22 февраля 2017
В нем приняли участие общины из многих городов России и стран Ближнего зарубежья, а также гости из румынского православного движения «Воинство Господне»

На соборе обсуждались две темы, которые оказались глубоко связаны. В первый день говорили о трудностях и кризисах, которые бывают в общинной жизни, потенциале общины и ее современных особенностях. Встречи второго дня были посвящены Акции национального покаяния, с инициативой которой в год столетия трагедии 1917 года выступает Преображенское братство.

Председатель Введенского братства Алексей Наумов, основатель и духовный попечитель Преображенского братства священник Георгий Кочетков, председатель Свято-Петровского братства Юлия Балакшина
Председатель Введенского братства Алексей Наумов, основатель и духовный попечитель Преображенского братства священник Георгий Кочетков, председатель Свято-Петровского братства Юлия Балакшина

Некоторым общинам Преображенского братства по пятнадцать, двадцать лет. Самой первой общине в следующем году исполнится тридцать. Ольга-Олеся Сидорова, председатель Воскресенского малого православного братства, сделала обзор того, как развивалось понимание общинной жизни за эти годы, как дополнялись новыми смыслами и открывались на большей глубине принципы жизни общины, сформулированные основателем и духовным попечителем братства отцом Георгием Кочетковым еще за десять лет до рождения первой общины, в 1978 году*. Рождение первой общины стало воплощением веры в Церковь, и рождение каждой общины, созидание личностных, подлинных, глубоких и ответственных отношений друг с другом – это каждый раз усилие по созиданию Церкви.

Слева – председатель Воскресенского братства Ольга-Олеся Сидорова
Слева – председатель Воскресенского братства Ольга-Олеся Сидорова

Близкие отношения невозможны без открытости, однако, когда люди все больше узнают о немощах друг друга, трудностях характера, им становится труднее ее сохранять. Но еще большим вызовом для общины становится то, что христианская любовь всегда взыскует от человека большего, преодоления инерции, страхов, грехов и немощей и такое движение вперед невозможно без доверия друг к другу, без послушания и терпения. Председатель Преображенского братства Дмитрий Гасак поделился тем, как тронули его однажды слова архимандрита Сергия (Савельева), обращенные к его общине: «Вся жизнь моя открыта перед вами». Неотмирность общины, ее свобода от законов и грехов мира сего требует усилий, молитвы и труда.

Председатель Преображенского братства Дмитрий Гасак
Председатель Преображенского братства Дмитрий Гасак

Еще одна проблема связана с угашением духа, с тем, что Николай Николаевич Неплюев называл «рутиной церковной жизни», – с ней сталкиваются и «пожилые», и «молодые» общины. Это преодолевается через постоянный поиск путей обновления жизни, через стремление к общению и служению, когда община живет не ради себя, но ищет возможности послужить всей церкви.

В 2017 году, в год столетия революции, открывается возможность для особого усилия памяти о трагической истории страны и церкви, для обновления собственной жизни. И в связи с этим в Братстве родилась инициатива Акции национального покаяния.

Знак акции – птицы. Образ летящей птицы – это всегда знак выхода из клетки, обретения свободы. На первый взгляд птиц три, но если приглядеться, можно увидеть и четвертую, белую птицу надежды.

Все члены Братства – люди с грузом советского прошлого, своего собственного или своих семей, именно поэтому Акция национального покаяния связана с личным покаянием членов Братства и тех, кто захочет к ним присоединиться, а также с восстановлением личной истории, истории своей семьи. Как сказала ведущая встречи Юлия Балакшина, «мы можем покаяться за большевика в себе». Кто-то в советское время участвовал в неправде делом, словом или, наоборот, молчанием. Но и многие из тех, кто родился и рос уже в постсоветскую эпоху, свидетельствовали, что для них актуален призыв к покаянию за принятие в своей жизни духа страха, безволия, несвободы.

Протоиерей Василий Михок, президент православного движения «Воинство Господне», рассказал об опыте покаяния в Румынской церкви. Священный синод Румынской православной церкви объявил 2017 год годом памяти жертв коммунистического режима, памяти мучеников. Отец Василий рассказал и об акции 1999 года, когда была организована масштабная конференция, участниками которой стали представители четырнадцати христианских церквей Румынии – православные, католики, протестанты. На ней поднимались вопросы солидарности народа в исцелении и преодолении последствий «коллективного падения». Он отметил, что и в Румынии также приходится сталкиваться с тем, что в массовом сознании покаяние часто понимается только как личное дело каждого, индивидуализировано.

Президент православного движения «Воинство Господне» протоиерей Василий Михок
Президент православного движения «Воинство Господне» протоиерей Василий Михок

Алексей Наумов, президент Культурно-просветительского центра «Преображение» и председатель Введенского малого православного братства, в своем слове сделал акцент на том, что покаяние направлено не в прошлое, но «в будущее в связи с прошлым». Этого часто не понимают, потому что останавливаются на вине, которая всех ослабляет. Считается, что покаяние – это позиция слабых, забывают, что покаяние – это возвращение к Отцу, перемена ума и попытка нащупать основания для возрождения народа и страны. Дмитрий Гасак отметил, что покаяние – это не столько вопрос вины, сколько вопрос разделения судьбы. «Мы не можем себя отделить от истории народа, и в этом тоже есть восстановление преемственности и традиции. Мы каемся не только в чем-то, но и для чего-то, и надеемся, что покаяние – это исправление пути», – сказал он.

Председатель Введенского братства Алексей Наумов
Председатель Введенского братства Алексей Наумов

Плод этой страшной эпохи еще и в том, что сегодня даже чуткие к правде люди не готовы брать на себя ответственность за существующую ситуацию и ее перспективы. Все поражены страхом и неверием в возможность единства, которое ассоциируется только с опытом «колхоза» и несвободы. Но христианское покаяние не может быть индивидуализированным, оно может быть только личностным и соборным, открытым для всех.

Священник Георгий Кочетков
Священник Георгий Кочетков

Покаяние за другого требует жертв и усилий. Отец Георгий Кочетков сказал, что в этом мире парадоксальным образом высшие Божьи дары – свобода и любовь – могут входить в противоречие. Человек всегда свободен, благодаря этому дару и возможна вера в человека, но свобода может вырождаться в произвол, становиться гибельной, демонической формой рабства. Такое вырождение свободы и привело наш народ к тотальной катастрофе сто лет назад. Отец Георгий обратил внимание на то, что апостол Павел в Послании к коринфянам (8:8–9:2) говорит о свободе верующей – свободе, способной ограничить себя ради брата, способной на все ради исполнения самой лучшей возможности, данной Господом – Христовой любви.

Александра Строцева


Фото Александра Волкова, Алены Каплиной, Олега Свечникова, Евгения Фоминых

* Статья была опубликована в журнале «Вестник РХД» №128 в 1978 году под псевдонимом Николай Герасимов.

загрузить еще

Подпишитесь на нашу почтовую рассылку