“My Soul Has Long Been Crying Out!”

15 December 2018
Feedback on the interview with Fr Georgy Kochetkov on the current crisis in the Orthodox world

We have recently translated the interview with Fr Georgy Kochetkov on the current crisis in the Orthodox world. With the English text we have received the following email.

Good evening, dear friends!

The interview is simply marvelous. And it hints at an obvious next step, in my opinion.

The Transfiguration Brotherhood or SFI (but better, the Brotherhood), needs to immediately organize a conference, to which priests from the Greek Church in America and Europe will be invited. Among the various places I have studied is Holy Cross Greek Orthodox Seminary, in Boston. In my personal, close acquaintance, there are at least three priests (probably more) and two professors from the Greek Seminary in Boston, who feel so strongly about the current crisis that they would probably risk their position to get the chance to speak to Russian Orthodox priests and laypeople here, who feel as strongly as they do. These are clever and educated people, who have a knowledge of Church History, Canon Law, and even more… they are students of what “hierarchy” means at the deepest level… what it has to do with the cross-shaped action of the Logos, and the extent to which our current understandings of hierarchy are truly in line with its mystical reality. After all, our Orthodox clergy in the west, even the Greek ones, grew up on Schmemann and Berdyaev – there, the various orthodox traditions are already completely mixed. But where is the dialog? My soul has long been crying out! I don’t see these Greek priests on the lists of participants in the conferences, the content of which I am constantly translating for your Brotherhood. They simply aren’t there! But their voices are all the more significant and weighty, especially in light of the current crisis.

I don’t know the degree to which you understand the seriousness of the current crisis for the typical parishioner in Europe or America. It is an unthinkable tragedy (although many people don’t understand this). Everywhere there are people who are, in fact, excommunicated from their spiritual families and from the other people in their own parishes. Half of my God children and God parents are from the Greek church, although I myself – a Russian-speaking American, who lives between France and Russia… who am I in terms of the current crisis? A Russian, I suppose? To whom do I belong? When I am in France, I attend church at the closest monastery to where I live. A Romanian monastery (although most of the monks there are French, and formerly lived in Palestine). But half, or probably more, of the people who attend services at this monastery are Russian. Where do we go now? An hour and a half to Toulouse every other Sunday (the liturgy is only served there every other week). This is the picture of our current church life. And everyone has a story like this. And so, naturally, Europeans ignore the current conflict to a large extent, and live as if it were not happening. But Fr. Georgy is right; it is as if the current conflict forces us to choose. But at the same time, we are used to “knowing” that one of the greatest strengths of our European, Orthodox mix, is that it bears an everyday witness to the fact that Orthodoxy is, in fact, One – and isn’t subject to national particularity, it its essence.

Do not wait. Organize a conference between those who care about this deeply as soon as you can! I will help you find excellent people, not the usual crowd – to come and discuss and pray over this crisis. I have already sent the text of Fr. Georgy’s interview and Dmitry Gasak’s recent paper to two of these people. Does anyone else really have the spiritual bravery to organize such a conference if you don’t? I don’t see them. And discussions between people from the two sides who are always located in America or Europe isn’t quite what’s needed here. There – if you can put it this way – there is too much freedom. The majority of people are used to simply following the quiet promptings of their own consciences without consulting anyone else. The question of hierarchy and structure won’t be discussed by them, alone, at a sufficiently deep level.

With deep respect, and a low bow to Fr. Georgy for all that he currently does, and for how he lives,

Georgia

load more

Subscribe to our mailing list

«Моя душа давно кричит…»

15 декабря 2018
Отзыв на интервью священника Георгия Кочеткова «Православие и мир: быть или не быть»

Недавно мы отдали на перевод интервью духовного попечителя Преображенского братства священника Георгия Кочеткова о ситуации в мировом православии. Вместе с английским текстом мы получили от переводчика вот такое письмо.

Добрый вечер, дорогие друзья!

Интервью просто великолепно, и оно намекает, на мой взгляд, на очевидный шаг.

Преображенскому братству, или СФИ (но лучше братству), надо немедленно организовать конференцию, на которую будут приглашены священники Греческой церкви в Америке и Европе. Я училась в том числе в Holy Cross Greek Seminary in Boston. Среди моих близких знакомых есть по крайней мере три священника (да больше) и два профессора Греческой семинарии в Бостоне, которые очень сильно переживают нынешний кризис. Я полагаю, что они бы рискнули даже своим саном, чтобы по-настоящему поговорить с теми русскими священниками и мирянами, которые так же переживают по поводу этой ситуации. Это умные и образованные люди, владеющие церковной историей, хорошо знающие каноны и – более того – осмысляющие на самом глубоком уровне само явление иерархии: как она соотносится с действием распинаемого в мире сем Логоса и насколько наше сегодняшнее представление о ней соответствует её мистической реальности. Ведь наши западные, даже греческие, священники выросли на Шмемане и Бердяевеу нас разные православные традиции совершенно смешаны. Но где же диалог? Моя душа давно кричит… Я не вижу этих греческих священников среди участников конференций вашего братства, содержание которых я постоянно перевожу. Их там просто нет! Но их голоса в свете данного кризиса могут быть особенно значимы и весомы.

Я не знаю, понимаете ли вы всю серьёзность нынешнего кризиса для типичного европейского или американского прихожанина. Это просто немыслимая трагедия (пусть многие этого сами и не осознают). Везде есть люди, которые оказались фактически отлучены от причастия со своими «духовными родственниками» и с братьями и сёстрами в своих приходах. Половина моих духовных родственников – из Греческой церкви, хотя я сама… русскоязычная американка, которая живёт между Францией и Россией… КТО Я? Россиянка, наверное? К какому церковному собранию я принадлежу? Когда я во Франции, я хожу в ближайший монастырь. Румынский (хотя почти все монахи в нём – французы, раньше жившие в Палестине, но половина, если не больше, прихожан – русские). Куда нам теперь? Полтора часа до Тулузы, чтобы причащаться через воскресенье (в Тулузе служат только раз в две недели)? Вот и картина нашей нынешней жизни. У каждого такая же история. И, естественно, европейцы игнорируют конфликт и живут так, как будто его нет. Но отец Георгий прав… Нельзя так. Кризис как бы требует от нас, чтобы мы определились. Но в то же самое время мы привыкли «знать», что одна из самых сильных сторон нашей европейской православной «каши» – ежедневное свидетельство о том, что Православие едино и по сути не зависит от национальных особенностей.

Не ждите! Как можно скорее соберите конференцию для тех, кто глубоко озабочен этой ситуацией! Я помогу вам найти заинтересованных участников, не просто толпу, а тех, кто готов приехать обсуждать кризис и молиться о его преодолении. Двоим я уже отправила текст о. Георгия и доклад Дмитрия Гасака. Разве у кого-то, кроме вас, ещё достанет дерзновения собрать такую конференцию? Я таких людей не вижу. И обсуждение этих вопросов теми, кто находится в Америке или Европе, – не совсем то, что нужно. Там, как я уже сказала, люди игнорируют серьёзность данного вопроса. Там, если можно так сказать, слишком много свободы. Большинство людей привыкли просто делать то, что им тихо подсказывает собственная совесть, не советуясь ни с кем. Вопрос об иерархии и церковной структуре не будет обсуждён там на должном глубоком уровне.

С глубоким уважением низкий поклон о. Георгию за всё, что он постоянно делает, за то, как он живёт!

Джорджия Уильямс
загрузить еще

Подпишитесь на нашу почтовую рассылку